IPSY January Glam Bag Review

IPSY – January Glam Bag Review

IPSY January Glam Bag Review

Let me preface this post by telling you all that I am no makeup artist. I look like a racoon when I attempt a smokey eye, my cat eye looks more like bat wings, and most of the time I end up washing my face four times before I settle on a very complicated look consisting of a little concealer and some good ole reliable mascara. That being said, it doesn’t mean I don’t like makeup – I actually love the stuff! I just find it difficult to keep up with all of the new creams and primers and liners. Enter IPSY. A monthly beauty subscription that sends you five samples a month tailored specifically for you in an adorable little bag for $10 USD all in (for us Canadians it costs about $17) Pretty sweet right!? I figured this was the perfect way for me to expand my makeup knowledge and skills without the hassle of having to do research on new products.

So, last week I received my very first IPSY Glam Bag and thought it would be cool to give my readers a peek inside! If you want to learn more about any of the products click on the photos and you’ll go straight to the product website! Here we go…..

IPSY Pouch
IPSY Makeup Bag
As this is my first IPSY bag I didn’t know what to expect in terms of makeup bag – would it be cheap quality, small, ugly colours or plain? I have to say I was pleasantly surprised! I love the blue and white contrasts and how they allow the orange zippered portion to really pop. Having the inner lining be the same orange colour is a nice addition and the texturing adds a nice layer as well. I was also really happy with the quality of the bag. I think that for $10 USD this bag is made pretty well – it’s a nice thick material and the stitching and zippers all seem to be good quality. While the colours are beautiful and they’re super bright I do wish there was a little added pattern of some sort to differentiate it from all the other makeup carryalls.
Rating – Four Hearts

Probelle Nail Lacquer – “Into the Blue”
Probelle "Into the Blue" Nail Lacquer
Very excited that this is a full sized product. From what I have been reading not all products in the Glam Bags are full sized so this really is a treat. While I may not know the most about makeup, I do consider myself well versed in the nail polish category and I have to say this was one of the better nail polishes I’ve worn. Usually because of all of the hand washing and just constant use of my hands my nail polish chips off within two to three days. This Probelle polish actually lasted five before it needed a touch up – and that’s without a top coat. I am also a big fan of the consistency, my nail was covered perfectly with two quick coats and – a very important attribute – it dried super quick. My only criticism of this was the colour. It is a great blue but I don’t think it’s something I could continually wear to the office and at events.
Rating – Four and a half hearts

BellaPierre Shimmer Powder – “Celebration”
Bellapierre Shimmer Powder in "Celebration"
The next product in my January Glam Bag was this BellaPierre Shimmer Powder in a bronze-gold colour they have called “Celebration.” First thoughts was that I didn’t like the colour all that much, however, I was willing to give it a try as I have heard that brownish pigments helped to bring out blue eyes. When I opened it up it seemed to me that it was more of a glitter as opposed to a normal eye shadow. Fair warning also – it is loose packed so if you’re not careful it gets EVERYWHERE. Once I put it on my eyes (which was quite difficult since it kept falling onto my lap, my cheeks, my table, etc.) I felt very overwhelmed by the look of it. For my complexion and compared to my normal makeup routine it was very extreme. The colour however, was actually quite complementary to my eyes. Overall I don’t think this is a product that I would be using regularly because of the intensity, but I do think it would make a really cool eye liner. There is a product I’m looking to purchase which is a transforming liquid and just a drop can turn any eye shadow into a waterproof liner which would be perfect! See it HERE.
Rating – Three hearts

Be Good. Good Day. Day Moisturizer by La Fresh
La Fresh Eco Beauty Moisturizer
When I was saw this moisturizer and the packaging that basically looks like a wet nap I was confused and kind of disappointed because I thought “How am I going to cover my face with this tiny package?” I apologize to the La Fresh people because I was WAY off. I have used this product five times so far and I still have plenty left. It is not thick or oily and feels super light on your skin. You need so little of it to cover such a large span of skin and it actually does a great job moisturizing and acting as a base for any foundation or concealer. I had a terrible patch of dry skin on my cheek and after two uses of this moisturizer it was back to normal. Another thing I liked was that it absorbed quickly so it didn’t slow down my makeup routine. The only thing I didn’t like about this cream was the smell. It went away after it was absorbed into my skin but it smelt like cucumbers that had been sitting in water for a couple of days (I know, super random), not nice.
Rating – Four Hearts

All Over Shadow Brush by Elizabeth Mott
All Over Shadow Brush by Elizabeth Mott

One of my favourite things in this month’s bag is this pink all over shadow brush by Elizabeth Mott. When I pulled it out of the bag I was immediately in love – the pink colour of the brush and the way they have worked it into the tips of the bristles is adorable! The first thing I test when I pick up a brush is how soft it is, as someone with sensitive skin I can’t deal with things that are rough or sharp – especially on my eyelids. Let me tell you, this brush passed the test with flying colours. It is amazingly soft and full and does a great job picking up the shadows. The one thing I was disappointed about with this was more about the brand than the brush itself. I am in love with it and I was ready and willing to purchase a full brush collection from Elizabeth Mott, however, according to their website they only have the one brush.
Rating – 5 hearts

Pacifica Natural Mineral Coconut Eyeshadow – “Ethereal”
Pacifical Eye Shadow in "Ethereal"

This shadow is the ultimate. Full sized, shimmery, soft – perfection. I have been using it every single day since I opened it and I have gotten compliments from my friends, family and complete strangers. The colour is especially good on my pale skin and can be used as either an all over shadow or as a highlight on the brow bone and inside corner of the eye. As someone with hooded lids anything that is going to give me the illusion of a larger, brighter eye is an A+ in my books. My only problem with this shadow is that you cannot purchase any colour individually, it comes as part of a palate. Also, on their website none of the current available palates include this colour – super frustrating.
Rating – 5 hearts

Once all glam bags have been sent out IPSY’s website gets updated with everything that you COULD have got in your bag this month and I have to say there were a couple of things that I would not have minded had they been included in mine…

  1. Mojito Lip Balm – It’s winter and my lips are ALWAYS dry, enough said.
  2. Coastal Scents Liquid Eyeliner – I just ran out of mine so it would have been really nice to be introduced to another brand.
  3. Lashfood Eyelash Enhancer – One of my favourite looks is long flirty eyelashes so this would have been interesting to test out – especially since I have blonde eyelashes.
  4. Jouer Essential Lip Enhancer – Because who doesn’t like plump lips? Who knows I could have been the next Kylie Jenner!
  5. HEY HONEY Take It Off! Exfoliating Honey Peel Off Mask – I love exfoliating my skin and getting rid of all the dead skin especially in winter. Facials are expensive so I’m always looking for a way to give my skin a little treat.

There you have it folks – my very first IPSY experience! I have to say I am impressed with everything I received for such a low price. Anyone interested in IPSY should check them out and sign up before February 1st to ensure they receive the February Glam Bag!

So now I pass it onto you all. Are you an IPSY member? If so, what was your favourite product this month? Least favourite? If not what are your favourite beauty products? Be sure to share them with me!

Amy Lee

P.S. Make sure you follow me on TWITTER and INSTAGRAM! 

One thought on “IPSY – January Glam Bag Review

Leave a Reply

